Andrew Wordsworth – Sustainable Accelerator – Growing The Sustainable Startup Ecosystem

Andrew Wordsworth is the founder of Sustainable Venture group of companies. Sustainable Venture’s mission is to create a more sustainable future world where climate change and resource scarcity is addressed by commercial solutions. They are a venture builder where they develop, invest in and provide workspaces for sustainable business. Sustainable Workspaces located in London is the largest community of colocated community of sustainable startups.
Highlights:

  • The genesis of the Sustainable Ventures, Sustainable Workspaces and Sustainable Accelerator 
  • Proving the equity crowdfunding model when E-Car Club was sold to Europe Car
  • Examples of Sustainable Accelerator portfolio companies
  • How Sustainable Accelerator help startups grow their valuation and develop the business
  • How to pitch to investors and benefits of wearing both hats of investor and investee
  • Why understanding risk will help your pitch
  • Andrew’s personal story and inspiration to move into sustainablity and startups
  • Mapping startups impact and Sustainable Development Goals

Useful links:Sustainable Ventures – https://www.sustainableventures.co.uk/Sustainable Workspaces – https://www.sustainableworkspaces.co.uk/Sustainable Accelerator – https://www.sustainableaccelerator.co.uk/Better Futures – https://www.london.gov.uk/what-we-do/environment/better-futures/about-better-futuresE-Car Club – https://ecarclub.co.uk/Powervault – https://www.powervault.co.uk/Rovco – https://www.rovco.com/Petit Pli – https://shop.petitpli.com/Airex – https://www.airex.tech/Centrica – https://www.centrica.com/Green Angel Syndicate – https://greenangelsyndicate.com/Bethnal Green Ventures – https://bethnalgreenventures.com/Carbon Trust – https://www.carbontrust.com/home/
Time stamp:[03:00] Andrew’s journey into podcasting[07:20] Sustainable Venture’s mission[10:30] Why crowdfund and why there was a need for an accelerator fund[15:00] Sustainable Accelerator Fund 1 and 2[17:30] Why Rovco is such an exciting business[23:00] Pitching to investors and being pitched[25:50] The best pitch Andrew heard[28:50] What inspired Andrew’s entrepreneurship journey
For more information go to Green Add Venture
This episode is hosted by Jake Woodhouse – connect with Jake on Linkedinor Twitter
This episode is produced by Woon Tan of Podcast Publishing
Designs are made by Joshua Barnes of Forage Studio